“Buffy The Vampire Slayer” 3×21/3×22 – Graduation Day

I recently decided to bingewatch Buffy The Vampire Slayer. Since I’d never seen a single episode prior to this viewing, there will be no spoilers (or possible foreshadowing) discussed. Click here for the rest of the Buffy reviews.

A literally explosive, near-perfect finale brings a tightly plotted and perfectly executed season to an end.

I’m still impressed by how Buffy’s season finales are always so definitive, making each year feel like one big story told across several episodes. While Graduation Day might not have been as epic as last year’s finale, it was still one of the most meticulously executed hours of television I’ve ever seen.

First, there’s the Buffy/Faith fight sequence that I had been waiting for ever since Faith was introduced this year. Eliza Dushku has been nothing short of brilliant in this role, and I’m already devastated she won’t be back, but I can gladly report that she had a fascinating storyline on this show. The two slayers’ final faceoff was an incredibly executed, pulse-pounding sequence that’s undeniably the highlight of this two-parter finale. The fact that it culminates in Buffy stabbing Faith with her own knife is icing on the cake. Amazing.

The other big moment in Graduation Day is the final, 10 minute-long fight between the Scooby gang, the entire senior class, the mayor and the vampires. It’s a thrilling, relentless scene unlike anything this show has ever produced as every single character pitches in (Cordy even kills a vamp!), and the result is absolutely glorious. My only complaint is that the mayor’s ascension ends up relying solely on the special effects department, which ends up being the show’s most horrendous attempt at CGI yet, depriving this finale of a perfect grade. How sad.

Finally, there’s no other way I would have wanted this season to end than with the Scooby gang saying one last goodbye to this now-burnt place they’ve called home for the past four years. The final shot as everyone gets up to move on to their next big adventure is bittersweet as the camera pans around to a remaining yearbook lying half-burnt on the ground with the words “Sunnydale ’99, The future is ours!” inscribed on it. What a poignant and powerful ending to an incredible season of television.

Ascensions & Quotes

– The mayor has been an incredible Big Bad this year. I still think I prefer Spike because he got a lot more to do last year, but there’s no denying that the mayor’s visit to the library in the first hour was one of the most chilling and terrifying scenes ever made.

– Hilarious detail: “rat Amy” is still alive and Willow has her in her bedroom!

– In other news, Oz and Willow have sex! Woohoo, I’m still rooting for these too.

– Seriously, the Buffy/Faith fight was just riveting, I did not want it to end. From the two of them smashing into the glass and jumping onto the balcony to Buffy cleverly chaining her opponent to her, it was all nothing short of brilliant and reminded me of the Sydney/Francie fight in Alias‘s epic season two finale.

– Angel biting Buffy in the opening scene of the second hour was harrowing. I can’t believe how long that scene lasted; my jaw dropped for TOO long!

– Loved the camera moving outside Buffy’s hospital room and revealing Faith and the mayor in the adjacent room. Chilling.

– Goosebumps-worthy moment: the reveal that every single graduate is also in on the plan to take down the mayor. Let’s just say I fist-pumped the air pretty hard.

– So long, Principal Snyder! I never liked you, even in your final moments alive.

– There really was a dramatic irony behind Sunnydale High burning to the ground just as our gang is graduating.

– Heartwarming moment: Giles handing Buffy her diploma outside the school, telling her this was worth saving. God, I love these two.

– Angel leaves Sunnydale in the final moments of the hour. I’m so glad he gets a goodbye (sort of) as opposed to him wanting to leave abruptly after the ascension. His and Buffy’s silent exchange was more poignant than anything words could have added.

– If this is also the last time we see Cordy on Buffy, then I’m very disappointed. She deserved some sort of sendoff as well!

– I’ll be watching/reviewing Angel next season as well, so make sure you don’t miss my thoughts on that! Let’s hope I love it as much as I have grown to enjoy Buffy this season.

– Anya: You’ve never seen a demon.
Buffy: Excuse me, killing them professionally for four years running.

– Buffy: Mom, I know sometimes you wish I was different.
Joyce: Buffy, no…
Buffy: And I wish I could be a lot of things for you. A great student, a big athlete, remotely normal… I’m not. But there’s something I do that I do better than anybody else in the world. I’m gonna fight this thing. But I can’t do that and worry about you.

– (after Faith hits Angel with an arrow from afar)
Vampire: Missed the heart.
Faith: Meant to.

– Buffy: Okay, you ready? On three. One…
(She immediately tears the arrow out)
Angel (screams in pain): I knew you were gonna do that.

– Wesley: You can’t turn your back on the Council.
Buffy: They’re in England. I don’t think they can tell which way my back is facing.

– Buffy: That’s the basic plan. So, am I crazy?
Willow: Well, crazy’s a strong word.
Giles: Let’s not rule it out, though.

– Buffy: My god, he’s gonna do the whole speech.
Willow: Oh, man. Just ascend already!

– Mayor: It has begun. My destiny. Little sooner than I expected… (looks through his speech notes) I had a whole section about civic pride, but…

– Buffy: My brain hasn’t processed anything yet. It’s not really functioning at the higher levels; it’s pretty much “fire bad, tree pretty”. Anything more complex…

– Giles: There’s a certain dramatic irony in the way things turned out. A synchronicity that almost borders on predestination, one might say.
Buffy (confused): Fire bad. Tree pretty.

– Oz: Guys, take a moment to deal with this. We survived.
Buffy: It was a hell of a battle.
Oz: Not that battle. High school.

Grade: A

2 thoughts on ““Buffy The Vampire Slayer” 3×21/3×22 – Graduation Day

Leave a comment