“Angel” 2×09 – The Trial

This show has been on a roll lately! Not a single weak episode this season so far, a far cry from the countless forgettable standalone-ish hours last season.

Of course, the ending makes The Trial even more powerful and game-changing than anything this show has ever produced. Bringing back Drusilla–in an epic, bone-chilling slow-mo sequence–to turn Darla back into her evil vampire self is a brilliant move from a writing standpoint. Angel, Dru and Darla have a tremendous amount of history, and I’m honestly on the edge of my seat now. I don’t know what the back half of this season is going to be like, but I can tell it will be terrific.

The trials themselves were also thrilling. I loved the constant flashbacks to Angel and Darla’s time back in 1765 France, juxtaposed by their current relationship and status quo. However, it was obvious Angel wasn’t going to die, regardless of the several times he offered to sacrifice himself to save Darla. It was indeed convincing, knowing Angel and all, but I’m not very fond of episodes that make it seem like they’re about to off their main character. It will never happen, so don’t try to raise the stakes this way.

I’m still awfully fascinated by Cordelia (even though I’m still not used to the new haircut). She adds so much comic relief to every hour, making the show feel a lot more grounded, and I’m glad I’m starting to love the Host as well. Let’s see these two in the same subplot, writers! The possibilities are endless.


Favorite Scene

The ending is one of the smartest fakeouts I’ve seen all year! As much as I loved Drusilla on Buffy, I feel she was awfully underutilized there. Let’s hope she gets to do a lot more on Angel, especially with Lindsey and Wolfram & Hart involved.

Quotes

Wesley: What’s he doing down there?
Cordelia: How should I know? He barely says “good morning” and “get me a glass of blood” anymore.

Cordelia: I thought you were gonna be a man and talk to him about this.
Wesley: I was a man! I said…things.
Cordelia: Like what?
Wesley: Like, did he prefer milk or sugar in his tea? It’s how men talk about things in England.

Cordelia: So you were doing your laundry?
Angel: Yeah, there is an old washer and dryer in the cellar. Don’t you just love it when they’re still warm from the dryer? Wrinkle-free, right after you iron it for about 15 minutes.
Wesley: It’s good to see you taking a domestic task.
Cordelia: Yeah, you seem all calm and homey. Are you on drugs?

Cordelia: You’re planning on sleeping over?
Darla: I’m dying.
Cordelia: So, just for the one night, then.

Cordelia: (to Angel and Darla); You were just soulless bloodsucking demons. They’re lawyers.
Angel: She’s right. We were amateurs.

Cordelia: Sorry about the drying, but if you try to escape, we will hit you.
Wesley: On the head.
Cordelia: With very large and heavy objects.

Angel: (to Lindsey) Look at you, a few short months with her and you go all schoolboy. I was with her for 150 years.

Host: Ooh, ground control to major Tom, we may not be able to save this bird.
Angel: I’m gonna save her and you’re gonna help me.
Host: I sense pain and anger. Are you still testy from the last time?
Angel: When you sent me to that swami who was dead, and his imposter tried to kill me?  Why would I be testy about that?

Rating
A-

Leave a comment